Collected Wisps of Thought











{May 4, 2006}   Galleys

When it comes to being an author, one of the best feelings in the world is opening a box with your galleys in it.

Today I arrived home from the gym to find the long awaited box on my doorstep. I took it inside and told myself I would wait to open it until my husband got home so we could open it together… than I promptly got out the scissors and tore through the thick packing tape having restrained myself for approximately 2 seconds.

It's such an amazing thing to see this first printing of your book. In some ways, it's even more incredible than seeing the actual book because by the time the actual book comes out, you're used to the look of it. The cover. The page design. The jacket flap.

But when you see the galleys it looks like someone else's creation. The first time I see mine I usually think, "Did I actually write this? How is that possible?" All of those long hours of sweat and tears and jubilation fade away into a blur and all I see is this product before me — a real book with my name on it. 

For the first time, I actually allow myself to believe that my work will be printed. Up until I hold a galley in my hand there is always that small voice in the back of my head that says, "Maybe they'll change their mind". When Fat Kid was published I didn't spend a penny of the advance until the book was on the shelf. Not one penny. Some part of my brain was always thinking, "This can't possibly be for real, can it?"

Now I have galleys of Saint Iggy. They sit on my kitchen table waiting for my husband to get home so we can look through them together. Soon, I will sit down and read one of them and after all the drafts and all the work, the pages will finally be, once again, brand new.   

Leave a Reply

et cetera
