Collected Wisps of Thought











{May 3, 2006}   Blogging Beginnings

I'll admit I haven't quite gotten the hang of this blog thing. I keep telling myself I'm going to do it, but if I wake up feeling even mildly creative I want to work on a novel of some sort, so then it gets pushed aside until all my steam is gone and I don't feel like doing it anymore. But today is different. Today I have lots of steam and nothing to channel it into.

I just sent a middle grade novel off to my editor last week, so there's nothing I can do with that one for a while and then I took out an old YA novel I'd like to resurrect and worked on that for about fourteen hours straight yesterday, so I pretty much exhausted myself.

Today I feel blessed with an abundance of books. Now if I'd written a couple weeks ago, that would not have been the story.

The strange thing about writing is the extreme highs and lows. About a month ago I would have sworn I would never have another book published again. This was it. End of my career. The middle grade was giving me trouble. The YA seemed impossible to revive. It was all too much. But the one thing I've learned from being published is that everything changes.

What is dismal today is glittery tomorrow.

So today I feel good. Today I feel like both these books will make it out into the world, and that's a fabulous feeling. I am floating on air… until I get my next editorial letter. ;-}

Leave a Reply

et cetera
